• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Friday, August 2 - "What If My English Isn't Great?"

Friday, August 2 - "What If My English Isn't Great?"

Good morning!

Just checking in you, any big plans for the weekend?

Here’s what’s on the job description for today:

  1. One of the largest energy producers worldwide is hiring, especially in the middle east.

  2. Ellen asks, “I can speak English well but I get nervous and forget words when I’m stressed. How can I still pass interviews in English?”

“The limits of my language mean the limits of my world.”

- Ludwig Wittgenstein

IN HIRING

Saudi Aramco

  • As one of the largest energy producers in the world, this company gives team members a massive opportunity for learning and impact.

  • Currently, there are a lot of diverse roles with the firm, especially if you’re open to moving to the middle east.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Ellen asks, “I can speak English well but I get nervous and forget words when I’m stressed. How can I still pass interviews in English?”

Recommendation: If you’re finding that your English language is holding you back, here is what I’ve seen work for others:

  • First, there will likely be words that are more difficult for you than others. Practice your answers with an English speaker and let them tell you which words confuse them or sound awkward. Feel free to change words or learn how to pronounce them in a way that is easier to understand.

  • Second, write a script. If you don’t like reading from a script, write one to start and then write down a list of key words for you to go back to. Use the script to answer the basic questions like an introduction, why this firm, why the role etc.

  • Finally, practice with a variety of English speakers. A person from Scotland and a person from Toronto sound and understand the language differently. As important as speaking English is, understanding the questions asked is just as important (maybe more?) so practice with lots of different people.

Conclusion:

English language skills are clearly an important aspect of making it through interviews. While you may not have time to change the way you speak, you can work to understand and be better understood.

Check out some newsletters we think you might like:

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).