Friday, August 9 - "I Just Can't Relax!"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the JD today:

  1. One of the most successful electronics companies world-wide is hiring.

  2. Oliver says, “I have been applying for a while now and no success. During the weekend and when things are slow, I just cannot relax!”

“It’s not stress that kills us; it is our reaction to it.”

- Hans Selye

IN HIRING

Samsung

  • The company offers a wide variety of products from fridges to smart phones and is truly global in terms of roles on offer.

  • With many many product roles, there are opportunities in countries including the USA, UK, Middle East, Canada, and Western Europe.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Oliver says, “I have been applying for a while now and no success. During the weekend and when things are slow, I just cannot relax!”

This is super common during August, with candidates either feeling the anxiety of a nearing graduation or having been out of work for a while with nothing to show for it.

Recommendation: Here’s what I would do if I woke up in your shoes:

  • First, what does no success mean? If you’re not getting any interviews, either your resume sucks or you’re applying for roles that don’t make sense. If you’re getting interviews and not passing them, it’s time to make all your answers way more relevant to the company and role you’re interviewing for.

    • For resumes, focus on the following:

      • Reduce errors

      • Simple and easy formatting

      • Bullets that show outcomes, tools, and relevant actions

  • As for not being able to relax, this is something I suffer from as well. When I’m anxious, I find it hard to sleep or take a break. I’ve never been a yoga fan but stretching, exercise and some yoga seem to help me. Give it a try and see how you react.

Conclusion:

You’re not alone Oliver. Take some time to ensure you’re on the right path and then focus on getting your head straight - finding a role right now is a marathon, not a sprint.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).