• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Friday, September 20 - "I Just Want to Prove Myself!"

Friday, September 20 - "I Just Want to Prove Myself!"

Good morning!

Just checking in on you - how’s your week been?

Here’s what’s on the job description for today:

  1. New roles from a fast growing software company out of the UK.

  2. Joseph asks, “I’m so frustrated. I only want a chance to prove I can do the work but no one will take a chance on me. How can I prove I’m capable?”

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

- Winnie the Pooh

IN HIRING

Civica

  • A fast growing software provider, Civica is a great place for those open to working in the public sector and wanting to work in tech.

  • With many product, finance, and sales related roles, most of the company’s growth is coming from Australian and the UK, but roles are available worldwide.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Joseph asks, “I’m so frustrated. I only want a chance to prove I can do the work but no one will take a chance on me. How can I prove I’m capable?”

Recommendation: This sounds like the beginning of burn out to me. Here is what I recommend in a situation like this:

  • First, think back on the past few weeks and take an unbiased (as much is possible) account of everything. My guess is that it’s lots of applications but not many positive outcomes or a final round didn’t go well.

    • The goal is try to nail down what led you from excited about job hunting and feeling optimistic to the frustration that comes through in your question.

  • Second, take until next Wednesday off from all applications. If you have interviews, prep for them, and keep the networking calls that are scheduled. No more applications, spend a bit of time outside if you can.

    • Any new roles posted before next Wednesday can wait. Worst case scenario is that you’ll be a few days after the posting, which is totally acceptable.

  • Finally, you may have a few more months of looking left before a role comes. Things are starting to heat up in the job market from my perspective but it could still take a while before an offer lands.

    • Set up or join a community of other job searchers. Start with one person who you know is looking for jobs and stay in touch with them regularly. Message them once every few days to check in on their progress - by focusing on them, you won’t focus on yourself and anxiety will be reduced.

Conclusion:

This feeling of helplessness is often a sign of burn out, which is the death to job searching. Follow the ideas above to ensure you’re able to stay positive in the weeks and months to come.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).