• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Monday, August 19 - "Do People Get Interviews Without Applying?"

Monday, August 19 - "Do People Get Interviews Without Applying?"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the job description for today:

  1. New roles from one of the world’s most known FMCG companies.

  2. Lily asks, “I’ve heard of people getting interviews without applying. Is this really possible?”

“The root cause of our suffering is our own thinking.”

- Joseph Nguyen

IN HIRING

Kraft Heinz

  • As the world’s 3rd largest food and beverage company, they have a wide variety of roles from junior to senior leadership.

  • Currently, there are over 700 jobs open from all over world including those in marketing, logistics, and finance.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Lily asks, “I’ve heard of people getting interviews without applying. Is this really possible?”

I’ve also heard of the “hidden job market” but I have not yet seen a ton of evidence.

Recommendation: based on my experience, here are my thoughts on candidates getting interviews without applying:

  • First, I will say that there are all sorts of weird and strange things happening in the job market these days and if someone told me they got a job that was never posted publicly, I wouldn’t be surprised.

    • Speaking of surprises, check out this Reddit forum of a few absolutely wild recruiting stories.

  • More importantly, I think when people talk about a hidden job market, they are really discussing networking. Of the many candidates I’ve worked with, at best networking leads to referrals of publicly posted positions. I have yet to hear about someone just getting a job offer without going through a process, unless it was a scam.

  • Finally, and most importantly, there are hidden ways to find referrals. This isn’t a secret way to find jobs but a work-around so you can meet people who are willing to refer you. I won’t post any links as the ones sent to me are still being used by those candidates and are not willing to share them more publicly, but I promise you more than one community like this exists.

Conclusion:

From everything I’ve seen, the hidden job market is bullsh!t. There are however many ways to get referrals and find advantages - I highly recommend exploring those.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).