• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Monday, July 15 - "How Do I Stay Consistent?"

Monday, July 15 - "How Do I Stay Consistent?"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the JD today:

  1. With 1.7 trillion in value, one of the world’s most reputable financial institutions is hiring.

  2. Jennifer asks, “I go through waves of motivation. Have you seen anything that could help me be more consistent?”

“Your ability to adapt to failure, and navigate your way out of it, absolutely 100 percent makes you who you are.”

- Viola Davis

IN HIRING

Citibank

  • With branches in more than 19 countries, the bank offers a wide range of paths for those interested in the pursuit of a career in finance.

  • The company pushes a high level of intensity for those that want to supercharge their career growth and resume brand.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Jennifer asks, “I go through waves of motivation. Have you seen anything that could help me be more consistent?”

Recommendation: Burn out is very common among the candidates I work with. It’s challenging to keep things going but if you work around a strategy that’s best for you, you won’t be as stressed. Here’s what I’ve seen work:

  • Start by thinking back on your work experience and ask yourself what works best for you. Is consistent work the best fit or do you work better in sprints of hard work followed by rest.

    • A good way to find this is to ask, “if I owned a business, how would I have my team work?”

  • Once you know what works best for you, plan out a system that, if you achieved 70% of your tasks (because none of us ever complete everything, every day), then that would be enough to feel productive and unlikely to burn out.

  • Finally, I recommend finding tools that you would recommend to someone you cared about who had the same work style as you. Then actually use them:

    • For those that would like community, here is a reddit of people complaining that can help you feel connected: click here.

    • If you work best alone, here is a playlist to help you stay focused and concentrated: click here.

Conclusion:

If you can figure out your working style and then use online tools and communities

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).