• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Monday, July 8 - "I Was Rejected For My Old Job!"

Monday, July 8 - "I Was Rejected For My Old Job!"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the JD today:

  1. The most popular music streaming app in the world is hiring.

  2. April asks, “I got desperate and applied to my old job but was rejected. How is this even possible?”

“I take rejection as someone blowing a bugle in my ear to wake me up and get going, rather than retreat.”

- Sylvester Stallone

IN HIRING

Spotify

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

April asks, “I got desperate and applied to my old job but was rejected. How is this even possible?”

Recommendation: This sounds pretty painful. Here are a few reasons you may have been rejected and how to proceed:

  • First off, where you were you rejected in the process?

    • If it’s during the application stage, assume that you need a better application. Take a much closer look at your resume or your answers to any screening questions before assuming your skills are not valuable.

  • Second, find out why you were rejected and what you can do better going forward.

    1. Send 20 connection requests to people at the company/competitors,

    2. This will result in 1-5 connections. Send each a thank you note and ask for a 10 minute call.

    3. End each of those calls by asking what they would do if they were applying for these roles with your experience.

  • Finally, move on with what you have learned

    1. Put the feedback that you receive into your new applications.

    2. Ask those that you connect with to review your application the next time you apply.

    3. Make this a part of your daily routine.

Conclusion:

Getting rejected always sucks but it sucks a little harder when you know you are qualified. Networking is currently working the best it has in some time so use it to find out why you are being rejected and to uncover new opportunities.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).