• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Monday, June 17 - "Less Interviews Recently"

Monday, June 17 - "Less Interviews Recently"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the JD today:

  1. A fully remote, 500-person company bringing blockchain technology to the wider business community is hiring ~80 positions.

  2. Julian asks, “I have followed the same process for quite a while now but I have seen a decline in my conversion rate recently. What am I doing wrong?”

“Bad times have a scientific value. These are occasions a good learner would not miss.”

- Ralph Waldo Emerson

IN HIRING

Chainlink Labs

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Julian asks, “I have followed the same process for quite a while now but I have seen a decline in my conversion rate recently. What am I doing wrong?”

There’s something in the air recently where candidates are finding interviews more rare to come by than anytime this year. It may be a seasonality effect and it may be related to market conditions, but either way, it is harder now to find quality opportunities.

Recommendation: If you’re looking to transition your career, you need to take advantage of every chance to stand out, even taking steps I would usually say are a waste of time.

  • The first thing is to have a very good resume. Of course it needs to be error free (which few I see are) but formatting and simplicity are minimum expectations. If you don’t know, feel free to send it to me and I’ll take a look.

  • If you’ve got a great resume and still having trouble, it begins to make sense to have a cover letter that fits the job description. I’ve seen amazing things from Chat GPT recently. While many still come out as robotic and unreadable, find the right prompts and magic can be made.

  • Find referrals and make networking a part of your daily routine. If you can’t get a referral, aim for at least having a conversation with someone at the big firms you’re applying to so you can mention those meetings in the cover letter.

Conclusion:

Finding a job right now is depressingly difficult for many candidates. If you’re not 80% covered on the required skills or not receiving invitations to interviews, take every chance you can to stand out.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).