• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Thursday, September 5 - "Do I Need to Code?

Thursday, September 5 - "Do I Need to Code?

Good morning!

Just checking in you. How are you doing today?

Here’s what’s on the job description for today:

  1. New roles from one of the world’s largest chip providers.

  2. Patricia asks, “I see a lot of job descriptions asking for candidates who know certain coding languages but I think it will take a while to learn them. Should I dedicate that time?”

“Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.”

- Benjamin Franklin

IN HIRING

Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)

  • As one of the companies who have enjoyed the big investment bump into chip production, AMD provides a ton of opportunities, both financially and growth wise.

  • Over 800 roles are available, with most being a great fit for those with a technical background.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Patricia asks, “I see a lot of job descriptions asking for candidates who know certain coding languages but I think it will take a while to learn them. Should I dedicate that time?”

This is true of many hard skills but coding is slightly different. Most skills are completely useless (think valuations) unless you have experience. With coding, a course or program can actually make a difference.

Recommendation: Here’s what I would do if I was in your shoes:

  • First, pick one of the coding languages that are most relevant. In business, it’s most often Python or SQL but there are a wide range and it’s quite different as per the type of role.

  • Second, figure out what you really want. If you want to impress people in interviews and have something to say when they ask what you’ve been working on, then a free YouTube tutorial or free online class is likely to suffice.

    • If you choose the free path, I highly recommend building something with the new skill. It will help you learn and you have something you can show or discuss in interviews.

  • Finally, if you’re looking to get more interviews and want this skill on your resume, I’d look at something you can add to the education section of your resume. For this, you’ll want something a bit more recognized than “Followed Adam Phillips’ YouTube series on Python”, although maybe that will be my next thing. Who knows.

Conclusion:

Coding is frequently asked for skill and quite interesting (I’m learning Python for the 3rd time :P) - find out what you need and dedicate some time to it.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).