• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Tuesday, July 2 - "Was I Rejected Because I'm a Woman?"

Tuesday, July 2 - "Was I Rejected Because I'm a Woman?"

Good morning!

Here’s what’s on the JD today:

  1. The CRM you wish you had invested in is hiring globally.

  2. Karla asks, “I was recently rejected because I’m a woman. What should I do?”

“Discrimination on the basis of reasons which you have not chosen is injustice.”

- Sukant Ratnakar

IN HIRING

Salesforce

  • With a diverse leadership team and nearly unmatched global reach, Salesforce is a dream job for many.

  • Currently, there are over 1,100 jobs open from all over world including those in marketing, operations, and product.

  • Here are a few of the most interesting roles available

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Karla asks, “I was recently rejected because I’m a woman. What should I do?”

Recommendation: There are many reasons you are getting rejected and sometimes the reasons are unjust. Here are your options:

  • First off, while I get a lot of messages by candidates saying they are not getting chosen because of their race, gender, or other unfair reasons, if you are getting cut at the resume stage, assume it is due to a poor application or lack of skills and move one.

  • At the interview stage, it’s not uncommon for rejection reasons to be less fair, including being based on gender. Even though these companies are unlikely to have a great working culture, it’s an absolute slap in the face when this happens because what could you have done differently?

  • With all that being said, if you feel the need to make your voice heard, I have nothing against bringing justice to a bad talent acquisition team. Here are the best steps:

    • Click here to leave a review

    • Email the head of HR

    • Post publicly (only in extreme cases)

Conclusion:

I usually recommend trying to move on but if you feel the need to ensure this happens less in the future, start with a review and see if they get back to you.

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).