• Open to Work
  • Posts
  • Wednesday, June 5 - "Should I Post That I'm Open To Work?"

Wednesday, June 5 - "Should I Post That I'm Open To Work?"

“Stay hungry, stay foolish.”

- Steve Jobs

IN HIRING

JUST EAT

  • Rather than swearing at the bicyclist rushing to the next order, check out the positions in their corporate offices around the globe.

  • Over 300 roles are open, including those in operations, partnerships, and HR.

  • One of the most interesting roles is an Partner Operations role where you’ll help roll out new take-out delivery projects. Click here for the job description.

Click here for the company’s career page

TODAY’S QUESTION

Crystal asks, “a close friend said I should post on LinkedIn asking my network for help but I’m not sure. Do you think it helps?”

I have seen a lot more of these recently! It’s a great question that I hear quite frequently.

Recommendation: It’s unlikely to get you a job right away but it does get a lot of attention and is a great way to gain momentum when starting or stuck. Here’s how I would do it:

  • The first thing is to write out the answers to the following questions:

    • What is your experience in?

    • Which geographies are you focused on?

    • Which industries would you be a good fit for?

    • Most important: What do you want people to do for you?

  • Rather than focusing entirely on how desperately you need anything from anyone, focus on exactly what you’re looking for and how your network can help. It’s important to include some details about yourself but make it easy on those reading to help you if they can. Have a call to action with something like, “if you work in tech within London, please reach out as I’m trying to learn from and meet as many people as I can”. If you tag me, I’ll share it with my network :)

  • Help it spread far and wide. Along with tagging me or asking you network to share it, check this website for the most popular hashtags on LinkedIn so you can pick the ones that fit your needs (LINK).

Conclusion:

If you’re looking for a role, posting on LinkedIn can be a great way to gain momentum and expand your network. If you’re specific and express what you’re looking for, you’re off to a great start!

Get your question answered by replying to this email (or just say hi 😊).